Vanishing Borders - Song List

1. Scarborough Fair (trad.) 3:24
2. Killiekrankie (trad. Scottish)/Hewlett (Turlough O'Carolan) 3:40
3. First Snow (Coulter) 5:51
4. Trout Will Rise (trad. American)/Promenade (Moussorgsky) 3:58
5. Sheep Under the Snow (trad. Irish) 2:16
6. The Spiral Dance (Coulter) 3:45
7. Conor Pass (Coulter/Moore) 4:18
8. Gavotte (J.S. Bach)/Hornpipe (Purcell) 3:55
9. Princess Royal (Turlough O'Carolan) 2:47
10. Eleanor Plunkett (Turlough O'Carolan)/Day of Grace (J.S. Bach) 4:57
11. Midnight on the Water (trad. American/Two Sisters (trad. Irish) 4:23

Barry Phillips -- cello, string arrangements, bowed psaltery
Shelley Phillips -- oboe, English horn, flute (7), wind arrangements
Esther Landau -- flute, whistle
William Coulter -- guitar (2, 3, 6, 11); production assistance
Bruce Abrams -- guitar (1, 4, 7, 10)
Rick Walker -- percussion
Joe Weed -- fiddle, viola
Daniel Lewis -- fretless bass (3)
Jon Gold -- piano

Engineered by Justin Mayer and Barry Phillips
Mixed by Justin Mayer
Mastered by Rainer Gembalczyk
Recorded at Bear Creek Studio, Santa Cruz, California, February-March 1992

Front cover painting: Die Musik I by Gustav Klimt (1895)
Back cover photograph by Tarmo Hannula
Instrument photograph by Eleanoir Lattner
Hand-coloring of photographs by Marianne Clancy
Design by Lynn Piquett

Special thanks to Neal Hellman for his integrity and enthusiasm, Peter Blanchette for sharing his musical ideas, Kim Robertson for the use of her harp, Bie, Juan, Amy, Joe, and for putting us up in Santa Cruz, Avsha for his perspicacious acumen, Mariska and Noëlle for their love and support.

Return to Vanishing Borders